30
Apr
08

Wireless Broadband: It’s been a long time coming (back)

So, I’ve finally rejoined the modern era.

My first exposure to consumer broadband was in 1994 when a friend of mine was a beta tester for @home. Back in the days when you could send an email to a fax machine and have a pizza delivered in 30 minutes.

In 1997 we were expanding into an additional building, but there was a several month wait to get a T1. PacBell was buried in the Silicon Valley with the beginning of the tech boom. We rolled out some Ricochet 28.8kbps wireless modems, linked them to increase throughput, and had a reasonable work around.

Around the same time, cellular rates had dropped to nearly nothing in Israel. I had visions of telecommuting using a cellular modem from the beach.

Y2K rolled around, the world hadn’t ended, and Ricochet bumped service to 128kbps and I jumped on it. Wireless ethernet was brand spanking new at the time, most cell phones were analog, and I was taking the train, streaming music from the internet, and working remotely for $75/month. Unfortunately, they were ahead of their time. The bubble burst, they held on for a while, but finally went under.

Since then, I’ve tethered my laptop to my mobile from time to time, but would usually stick to getting online when I could find a WiFi signal. Yesterday I broke down and got an EVDO card. Right now I’m finally living the dream I first had over a decade ago. Granted, I’m not on a beach, and my Hebrew isn’t very good, but at least technology has caught up.

1 Response to “Wireless Broadband: It’s been a long time coming (back)”


  1. April 20, 2013 at 12:18 am

    Great blog! Do you have any recommendations for aspiring writers?
    I’m hoping to start my own website soon but I’m a
    little lost on everything. Would you recommend starting with a free platform like WordPress or go for a paid option?
    There are so many options out there that I’m totally overwhelmed .. Any recommendations? Many thanks!


Leave a Reply

