12
May
08

Objects may be closer than they appear…

While it hasn’t been made obvious yet, we’re gamers around here. And for me, one of the great things about gaming is the immersive experience I can have. Helps me forget about the realities of the world for just a little while.

So when this link came across a list I’m on, I thought I’d comment with my first impressions. I’ll embed the demo video so you can take a look at what I’m talking about:

First off, standing up and gaming is the classic arcade experience we’ve all had. And it’s also cumbersome when you’re gaming for a couple of hours at a time. Our bodies were meant to move, not stand in a single position for too terribly long. With this design, it doesn’t offer you any kind of alternative positioning, limiting how you can set it up. It’d be nice to be able to sit in front of some form of this display and enjoy the game in a relaxing position.

Secondly, while I can appreciate the design and the relatively low cost of the dome canopy it still requires you have a projector behind the scenes. Which adds to the expense of setting up this experience. It also hoses up the entire room, thus making it less usable in situations where your main box (and in this case your projector display) are in a common location. Anyone else in the room will have difficulty doing anything else. You can’t just pop on some headphones and go.

Overall, I think it’s a great idea but I’m not ready to humor it until it’s a little more flexible in the way that it can be used. And for the price of projectors to come down.

0 Responses to “Objects may be closer than they appear…”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

